Amsterdam Master of Physics and Astronomy 2016

The jury

The jury consists of:

Bas Barendse (student-member of OC)

I am a second year master student of the master (track) Astronomy and Astrophysics. This year I am working on my master project on cooling Neutron stars. While I am working on my masters project I am also vice chair of the Board of studies. Here we make sure that the master tracks in Physics and Astronomy get the attention and if necessary the improvement it deserves.

Erwin Peterman (VU)

Erwin J.G. Peterman is professor Physics of Living Systems, University Research Chair at the Physics Department of Vrije Universiteit Amsterdam. His research focuses on the development and application of single-molecule biophysics tools to biomolecular problems. His core expertise is in single-molecule fluorescence microscopy and optical tweezers and combinations thereof. He applies these tools to studies of DNA and DNA-binding proteins, intracellular transport in C. elegans and membrane protein diffusion in bacteria.

Paul Kooijman (UvA, Nikhef)

Paul Kooijman is professor of Astroparticle Physics at the University of Amsterdam. He has performed particle physics experiments at CERN (at the first proton proton collider ISR), SLAC (at the electron-positron collider PEP) and DESY (at the electron-proton collider HERA) laboratories. In recent years he has devoted his research to the only remaining stable fundamental particle the neutrino. He provided major input to the design of the KM3NeT neutrino telescope that aims to discover cosmic sources of high energy neutrinos.

Assesment criteria

The jury will select the best presentation based on various assessment criteria: e.g.:

- In the introduction, is the context of the research project described?
- Is the content of the presentation comprehensible for non-expert fellow master students Physics or Astronomy?
- Media use
- Quality of narrative style
- Quality and level of discussion and answering questions